Appreciation.

Appreciation. A single word that can have such depth and meaning to it.

In January this year I set off on the adventure of a life time. To explore the wonders of the world. I was also on the quest to find myself too. Did I accomplish that? I cannot be sure, although my family think I have come back a different person. Hopefully for the better.

What I can tell you though, is that I while I was away I did learn ‘Appreciation’ and ‘No judgement’. I cant even begin to find the words to explain what I was witness to, visually, physically and emotionally.

Over the years of being on this never ending train to self discovery I have learnt to respect the opinions and thoughts of those around me. Sure, sounds easy enough to do. But in all honesty, to be at peace with yourself after you’ve walked away from that discussion in which you did not share the same views, to then not speak or look down on them is much more easier said than done.

Traveling around 4 foreign countries for 4 months all on my own was a task in itself. I was now in ‘their’ country and had to respect ‘their’ customs, values and history. I personally dont think I am an outwardly judgmental person, but I was making the conscious effort to see everything with an open heart and mind.

I learnt alot about respecting their way of life, that they do not live the same way as I do. I have grown up privillaged with many opportunites and experiences I will forever be greatful to my parents for. But now I was out on my own. In the big wide world was a complete understatement.

Over the years Ive been making the conscious effort to listen to everyone before jumping in the an initial reaction, fear, judgement or accusation. Its taken alot of learning and understanding of myself and the thoughts and feelings of those around me, but I am slowly getting there.

Being here, gives you the first hand experience to put this to the test. You are walking ‘their’ local streets and buying ‘their’ produce and fitting into ‘their’ daily way of life. You have no choice but to take on the opportunity to adapt and adjust and take in all the sighs, sounds, smells and emotions.

A true test of character to not judge and appreciate what is in front of you is not for the faint hearted if you come from the western world or middle class families. Being the sensitive and caring person I am (well at least I hope I am) this wasnt too difficult for me. I embraced the culture, food, way of transport, how they made a living or the way they lived because I understand that NOT everyone can be as fortunate as myself.

I truly did enjoy my experience travelling South East Asia. Saying I enjoyed my experience is a complete and utter understatement. It saved my life and opened my eyes and heart to the beauty, experiences and people the world has to hold. I will forever be grateful everything I witnessed visually, physically and emotionally and the appreciation I now have for the world and everything it holds.

 

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑